Scottish Parliament visitor experience earns quality award

VisitScotland has awarded the visitor experience at the Scottish Parliament a five-star rating in its Quality Assurance scheme for its customer service and facilities.

The building, in the heart of Edinburgh’s World Heritage site, runs behind-the-scenes tours of the complex that give visitors an insight into the history of the building and its architectur,e as well as explaining explain how the parliament works.

Visitors also have the opportunity to watch the parliament in action during sitting days.

The Scottish Parliament also has a café, shop and creche for visitors, runs specialist photography, art and architecture tours and has a permanent exhibition Parliament for the People open all year round.

Ken Macintosh MSP, presiding officer of the Scottish Parliament, said: “This award is a terrific achievement and a real recognition of the effort our staff put in to making the Scottish parliament such a warm and welcoming place to visit.

“We are proud to welcome thousands of visitors each week from right across Scotland and beyond and I hope this award will encourage even more people to visit the Parliament and experience it for themselves.”

Visit Scotland chief executive Malcolm Roughead said: “The Scottish Parliament is a truly spectacular building that offers a fantastic insight into the history and politics of our country.

“It is great to see the hard work and commitment of all staff involved in welcoming visitors to this historic building being recognised with this prestigious award.

“Our Quality Assurance scheme helps businesses to reach their full potential and truly shine. The scheme is about more than just the ‘stars’ on the door – it’s about the entire visitor experience, about investing in your business, driving-up quality and creating jobs.

“Delivering a quality experience that meets, and exceeds, visitor expectations is crucial in making Scotland a must-visit, must-return destination.”

Pictured: Presiding Officer Ken Macintosh MSP (third left) is joined by Malcolm Roughead (third right) and Parliament workers Brenda Law , William Martin, Monika Iljuczonek and Thomas Watt. Picture: Andrew Cowan/Scottish Parliament